Dedicated to Early and Accurate Pulmonary Diagnosis

Founded in 1992 by Professor Karl Harnoncourt, ndd Medical Technologies Inc. quickly evolved to become a global leader in lung function testing. Our team is dedicated to making pulmonary function testing (PFT) easy and reliable.

For more than 20 years, ndd Medical Technologies has created solutions that improve early detection of chronic lung diseases, including COPD and asthma. Today, ndd Medical Technologies offers unique spirometry and PFT device solutions that are available in more than 100 countries around the globe.

Prior to our launch in 1992, cardio-pulmonologist Dr. Harnoncourt realized that, compared to cardiology diagnosis, pulmonary diagnosis was entirely underdeveloped. Technical issues such as calibration, warm-up time and frequent maintenance made testing difficult and delivered unreliable results.

His response to this problem was to develop simple to use, quick and dependable PFT solutions, which evolved to the development of today's EasyOne® product line.

Connecting the world of lung function

ndd at ERS 2015, Amsterdam

Product Innovation with TrueFlow™ and TrueCheck™

The development of our TrueFlow™ and TrueCheck™ technology began with the invention of robust and unique flow sensors for spirometry and PFT devices. Today's technology makes lung function testing available to more people, providing early and accurate diagnosis of respiratory diseases.

TrueFlow™ technology was used in a NASA Space Shuttle mission and at the MIR Space Station and proved it could withstand the extreme environmental changes and vibrations of a space mission and maintain reliable, consistent and robust measurements.

Analog technologies, including turbines and differential pressure sensors, require constant calibration and may become unstable when there is a change in gas composition, temperature or pressure. This problem leads to unreliable results and reveals the equipment to be unsuited for early diagnosis at the point of care.

This is all the more relevant when the patient suffers from multiple diseases, as advanced lung function testing is traditionally done with large and complicated Body Boxes, which are extremely difficult and costly to maintain.

Years of focused development have led to solutions that are now the basis of ndd Medical Technologies' unique TrueFlow™ and TrueCheck™ Technology, making lung function testing SIMPLE, EFFICIENT and ACCURATE. Multiple research studies confirm that our technology is accurate and easy to use. To review case studies please click the link below.

Learn more: Proven Technology

Research and Studies

EasyOne products are used in research and studies worldwide, including BOLD, PLATINO, COPDGene, World Trade Center and MACS.

As there is currently no cure for COPD, asthma and other chronic lung diseases, supporting research and medical studies is extremely important to ndd Medical Technologies. We actively provide assistance to medical research and study programs that provide valuable data which can be used to help find a cure or improve the quality of life for those living with a respiratory disease.



Learn more: Research and Studies

Map showing the sites participating in the Burden of Obstructive Lung Disease Initiative (http://www.boldstudy.org/sites.html)

Early Diagnosis for Better Lung Health

It is estimated that 235 million people currently experience symptoms associated with respiratory disease. Many have not been officially diagnosed. Awareness and education are vital first steps in the early diagnosis of a respiratory disease.

The WHO estimates that 235 million people currently live with a respiratory disease, many of whom remain undiagnosed and nearly 30 percent of whom are probably misdiagnosed. Although spirometry and advanced lung function testing like DLCO and MBW are vital for correct diagnosis, a persistent problem is the need to perform more lung function tests around the globe.

This is why ndd Medical Technologies works with multiple healthcare providers, non-profit organizations and lung disease specialists to further advance respiratory disease awareness.

Learn more: Early Diagnosis for Better Lung Health

Corporate Social Responsibility

ndd Medical Technologies is dedicated to supporting health initiatives in developing countries and offsetting its carbon footprint by supporting initiatives like the cook stove project.

In remote regions that struggle with economic development, access to quality healthcare and technology to diagnose people affected by respiratory issues is often a challenge. ndd supplies stable, precise and reliable spirometry and PFT devices to organizations that strive to improve health in these regions.

ndd Medical Technologies is also committed to protecting the environment and supports programs related to respiratory health such as providing solar powered stoves in Madagascar.

Please take a moment to review a few of these global programs, which include the East African Training Initiative, the Uganda Lung Health Fair and the MyClimate project in Madagascar.

Learn more: Social Responsibility Projects

Uganda Lung Health Fair

Team involved in researching the causes of lung disease in southwestern Uganda

Company History

Dr. Christian Buess

In 1986, Dr. Christian Buess developed an ultrasound flow sensor at the Institute for Electronics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. His sensor technology was used in a Space Shuttle mission and on the Russian MIR Space Station.

Professor Karl Harnoncourt

In 1992, a collaboration with Prof. Karl Harnoncourt was established with the goal of developing an ultrasound flow sensor for clinical routine applications. This collaboration led to the foundation of ndd Medizintechnik AG in Zurich, Switzerland, and to the development of the EasyOne product family.

US Corporate Building

In 2000, ndd Medical Technologies Inc. Andover, Massachusetts, was established. Today, the ndd team consists of experts with decades of experience in the development and distribution of spirometry products.

Für eine frühe und genaue Lungendiagnose

Nach seiner Gründung 1992 durch Professor Karl Harnoncourt wurde ndd Medizintechnik AG bald zum weltweit führenden Unternehmen im Bereich der Lungenfunktionsdiagnostik. Unser Team widmet sich ganz der Entwicklung von einfachen und zuverlässigen Geräten für die Messung der Lungenfunktion.

Seit mehr als 20 Jahren entwickelt ndd Medizintechnik AG Lösungen für eine verbesserte Frühdiagnose von chronischen Lungenkrankheiten, einschliesslich COPD und Asthma. Heute bietet ndd Medizintechnik AG einmalige Spirometrie- und Lungenfunktions-Messgeräte, in weltweit mehr als 100 Ländern, an.

Vor der Gründung 1992 war dem Herz-Lungen-Spezialisten Dr. Harnoncourt aufgefallen, dass die Lungendiagnostik im Vergleich zur Herzdiagnostik stark unterentwickelt war. Technische Faktoren wie Kalibrierung, Aufwärmzeit und häufige Wartung machten das Testen schwierig und führten nicht zu zuverlässigen Ergebnissen.

Seine Antwort auf dieses Problem war die Entwicklung von einfachen und zuverlässigen Lungenfunktions-Messgeräten, was schliesslich zur Entwicklung der heutigen EasyOne® Produktline führte.

Connecting the world of lung function

ndd am ERS 2015, Amsterdam

Produktinnovation mit TrueFlow™ und TrueCheck™

Die Entwicklung unserer TrueFlow™ und TrueCheck™ Technologie begann mit der Erfindung von robusten und einmaligen Flowsensoren für Spirometrie- und Lungenfunktions-Messgeräte. Diese verschafft immer mehr Menschen Zugang zur professionellen Messung der Lungenfunktion und ermöglicht so eine frühe und genaue Diagnose von Atemwegserkrankungen.

Die TrueFlow™ Technologie wurde in einer Space-Shuttle-Mission der NASA und auf der Raumstation MIR eingesetzt, wo sie bewies, dass sie extremen Umweltveränderungen sowie den Erschütterungen einer Weltraummission standhalten und auch da zuverlässige, konsistente und stabile Messungen gewährleisten kann.

Analoge Technologien, wie Turbinen und Differenzdrucksensoren, erfordern ständige Kalibration und können instabil werden, sobald sich Gaszusammensetzung, Temperatur oder Druck ändern. Dieses Problem führt zu unzuverlässigen Ergebnissen und macht die Ausrüstung für die Frühdiagnose vor Ort ungeeignet.

Das ist bei Patienten mit Mehrfacherkrankungen umso relevanter, da die spezialisierte Messung der Lungenfunktion oft mit der grossen und komplizierten Body Box durchgeführt wird, deren Unterhalt schwierig und teuer ist.

In jahrelanger Entwicklung wurden Lösungen geschaffen, die jetzt die Basis der einmaligen TrueFlow™ und TrueCheck™ Technologie von ndd Medizintechnik AG bilden. Sie machen Lungenfunktionstests EINFACH, EFFIZIENT und GENAU, was mehrere Forschungsstudien bestätigen. Um mehr über Fallstudien zu lesen, klicken Sie auf den untenstehenden Link.

Erfahren Sie mehr...

Forschung und Studien

EasyOne Produkte werden weltweit für Forschung und Studien verwendet, einschliesslich bei BOLD, PLATINO, COPDGene, World Trade Center und MACS.

Da es für COPD, Asthma und andere chronische Lungenkrankheiten zurzeit keine Heilung gibt, ist es ndd Medizintechnik AG ein grosses Anliegen, bei der medizinische Forschung mitzuhelfen. Wir bieten aktive Unterstützung bei medizinischen Forschungs- und Studienprogrammen, die wichtige Daten gewinnen, um eine Heilung oder wenigstens eine bessere Lebensqualität für Menschen mit einer Lungenkrankheit zu ermöglichen.


Erfahren Sie mehr...

An der Initiative “Burden of Obstructive Lung Disease” teilnehmende Standorte (http://www.boldstudy.org/sites.html)

Frühdiagnose für bessere Lungengesundheit

Schätzungsweise leiden heute 235 Millionen Menschen an den Symptomen einer Lungenerkrankung. Viele von ihnen haben noch nicht einmal eine offizielle Diagnose bekommen. Bewusstseinschaffung und Aufklärung sind wichtige Schritte für die Frühdiagnose von Atemwegserkrankungen.

Nach Schätzungen der WHO leiden heute 235 Millionen Menschen an einer Atemwegserkrankung. Eine Vielzahl von ihnen haben noch keine ärztliche Diagnose bekommen und fast 30% dürften falsch diagnostiziert worden sein. Obwohl die Spirometrie und die spezialisierte Messung der Lungenfunktion, wie DLCO und MBW, für eine korrekte Diagnose unerlässlich sind, bleibt der weltweite Bedarf an Lungentests ungedeckt.

ndd Medizintechnik AG arbeitet darum mit mehreren Gesundheitsorganisationen, nichtkommerziellen Einrichtungen und Lungenspezialisten zusammen, um die Gesellschaft für Atemwegserkrankungen weiter zu sensibilisieren.

Erfahren Sie mehr...

Soziale Verantwortung

ndd Medizintechnik AG unterstützt Gesundheitsinitiativen in Entwicklungsländern, wie das Solarofen-Projekt, und kompensiert so auch den eigenen CO2-Fussabdruck.

In abgelegenen Gebieten, wo die Menschen mit der wirtschaftlichen Situation zu kämpfen haben, ist auch der Zugang zu qualitativ hochwertiger Gesundheitsversorgung und zur Technologie für die Diagnose von Atemwegserkrankungen oft eine Herausforderung. ndd liefert stabile, präzise und zuverlässige Spirometrie- und Lungenfunktions-Messgeräte an Organisationen, die sich für die Verbesserung der allgemeinen Gesundheit in diesen Regionen einsetzen.

ndd Medizintechnik AG setzt sich sowohl für den Schutz der Umwelt, als auch für den der Atemwege ein und unterstützt Programme wie die Bereitstellung von solarbetriebenen Öfen in Madagaskar.

Erfahren Sie mehr über Projekte wie die “East African Training Initiative”, die “Uganda Lung Health Fair” und MyClimate in Madagaskar.

Erfahren Sie mehr...

Uganda Lung Health Fair

Das an den Ursachen von Lungenkrankheiten forschende Team im Südwesten Ugandas

Unternehmensgeschichte

Dr. Christian Buess

1986 entwickelte Dr. Christian Buess am Institut für Elektronik der ETH Zürich einen Ultraschall-Flowsensor. Seine Sensortechnologie wurde in einer Space-Shuttle-Mission und auf der russischen MIR-Raumstation eingesetzt.

Professor Karl Harnoncourt

1992 begann er gemeinsam mit Prof. Karl Harnoncourt an der Entwicklung eines Ultraschall-Flowsensors zur routinemässigen Anwendung in der klinischen Praxis zu arbeiten. Diese Zusammenarbeit führte zur Gründung von ndd Medizintechnik AG in Zürich (Schweiz) und zur Entwicklung der Produktfamilie EasyOne.

US Corporate Building

Im Jahr 2000 wurde ndd Medical Technologies Inc. Andover, Massachusetts, gegründet. Heute besteht das ndd Team aus Expertinnen und Experten mit jahrzehntelanger Erfahrung in Entwicklung und Vertrieb von Spirometrie-Produkten.